Fixing my Fixie Stella

Stella...

The world of the “fixerati” is deep and dark….well, actually it is more deep and neon/colorful.  I have come to find that fixie land has become exactly what hipsters were rebelling against–for instance, did you know you can pay up to $5000 for a custom built STEEL track bike?? Yeah, to a carbon riding roadie and mtb-er, this just seems like an insane price to pay for a STEEL frame–no matter how cool, retro, authentic, or custom it may be.  You can also pay $800 for a set of “aerospoke” wheels that are anything but aero and weigh a ton.  But, in fixie land, you pay a price to get the look.

I was stoked because I got Stella at a deal.  Is she my perfect pink?-not quite, but, she is pink and was under $200=the perfect pink fixie for me.  Right now, Stella (my pink Schwinn) is not a true “fixie” though, she has coaster breaks– I call her a fixie in training.  I know I want to “fix” her, but I want to do it in style.  So, with so many options in the fixie world, I am lost.  I know I want a flip flop hub, but what color.  I know I want colorful wheels, but again, what color? Tires, spokes, cranks, pedals?  Decisions, decisions, decisions….I need help.

Any suggestions?

One might ask why I want to ride “fixed,” and no, it is not because I already have hipster attire (including a jetta), but rather because of a quote I once saw:

I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five.
Isn’t it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer?
We are getting soft…As for me, give me a fixed gear!  –Henri Desgrange, L’Équipe article of 1902

Riding a fixed gear is a workout AND a challenge, and a challenge when simply riding to get a cortadito sounds like a fun trip to the EZ Quick to me!!

Leave a Reply

