Pink Ladies

Sometime in between the Miami Man (my first half Ironman in 2009) and the 70.3 Miami (2010 and a complete disaster, not MY race but THE race–more on that another time), I became more and more obsessed with the bike portion of the racing.  I LOVED riding my bike and was slowly believing I could be better at it.  I would see the large peletons of cyclists ride around the Key and I wanted to be one of them:

 

But, as you can see, they were not on TT bikes, they were on pimped out road bikes (theride in the video takes place EVERY week!! and a slightly smaller version everyday EXCEPT Monday–since, everyone needs a rest day).  I started researching bike racing, and what one needed.  I realized that to race a road bike I needed, well, a road bike AND (I had decided) a team.  I saw the roadies talking, laughing, having a good time, stopping and drinking expresso after completing several circuits around KB in race mode in their matchy-matchy pro looking team kits.  And then I saw solo tri geeks (like me) in aero bars, anti social, hammering towards no real purpose and NEVER having a smile.

Me (in pink) tri-geeking-out after racing the Miami Man with Danish and friend TFed

After much consideration, and talking with Danish, I decided I would purchase a road bike after completing the Miami Man.  I felt bad to just up and abandon Pinky (my name for my TT bike), but knew it was what I needed to take my enjoyment of the sport of cycling to the next level.  Naturally, my road bike could not be any other color than pink. You see, product helps motivate me– I am pretty much a marketing team’s dream consumer.  For example, to aid in my running I bought cute running skirts.  For Triathlon, my awesome hot pink camoflage TT bike:

"Pinky"

I searched Ebay and Craigslist up, down, back, forth searching “pink road bike” and “carbon pink bike” and “pink bike.”  I would google it, in the event I should find a certain brand to search.  But my luck for finding a pink, carbon, road bike in my size (I am tall, a 54cm bike) was running out.  So,  it would have to be none other than a 6.9 WSD Project One Trek Madone (aka Rizzo)—DUH.

Rizzo 1.0

I placed the order for Rizzo 1.0 one month to the day after completing the Miami Man (November), and received her a week after Valentines Day….Riding Rizzo made me feel stronger and more confident on the bike and like I fit in with the crowds of cyclists.  Of course, this list of pointers helped.  I set goals, finishing the Pinecrest Ride (video above) on Saturdays and set out to find a team….I didn’t think it was possible to race bikes without being on a team (I had no idea that unattached was ok).  As luck would have it, the mechanic from my local shop (where I got my Project One 6.9 Trek Madone) pointed to a poster of women in pink cycling gear on the wall one day and said “with a bike like yours, you should really try and ride with these women…I think they like pink and going fast as much as you do…”

They look mean, fast, and hot....could I really fit in there? They do wear pink....

And that’s where it started.  I used to see these mysterious fast women in pink riding in the peleton in the morning, but didn’t know how to find them (or how to catch them)….I know was setting out on a search to find THE team I belonged on…

One thought on “Pink Ladies

Leave a Reply

